Past Presidents

Name Position Dates
Lorcan Birthistle CEO, St. James’s Hospita 2019-2021
Lucy Nugent Deputy CEO, Tallaght Hospital 2016-2019
Derek Greene Chief Executive, National Rehabilitation Hospital, Dun Laoghaire 2013-2016
Richard Dooley Area Manager Waterford/Wexford Health Services, HSE South 2010-2013
Denis Doherty Principal, Denis Doherty & Associates, Healthcare Consultants 2007-2010
Michael Lyons Chief Executive Officer, Adelaide & Meath Hospital, Dublin incorporating the National Children’s Hospital, Tallaght 2004-2007
Gerry O’Dwyer Deputy General Manager, Cork University Hospital Group 2001-2004
Martin Cowley Chief Executive, Mater Misericordiae University Hospital 1998-2001
Kieran Hickey Chief Executive Officer, Eastern Health Board 1995-1998
Noel Nelson Secretary Manager, Rotunda Hospital 1992-1995
Desmond Rogan Secretary Manager, Adelaide Hospital 1989-1992
Lorcan Hogan Hospital Administrator, St James’ Hospital 1986-1989
Sr Lucy Staines MMM Secretary Manager, Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital, Drogheda 1985-1986
Maurice Joy Secretary Manager, National Maternity Hospital, Holles Street 1981-1985
James M Dawson Secretary Manager, St Laurence’s Hospital 1977-1981
Francis J Woods Chief Executive, The Hospitals Joint Services Board 1973-1977
Matilda Gilmartin Secretary, St Ultan’s Hospital 1972-1973
Charles J Russell Secretary Manager, National Maternity Hospital, Holles Street 1963-1972
William Leadbeatter Secretary, Royal City of Dublin Hospital, Baggot Street 1961-1963
Alfred W McDermott Secretary, Board of Governors, St Laurence’s Hospital 1945-1961

Back to About HMI >>